FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions
I want to find out more information about your Online Continuing Education
If you are a current salesperon or broker looking to get information about our online continuing education then please go to our help page for that product.
This page contains answers to the most common questions about our online CE classes. If you do not have any more questions and you just want to sign up for online continuing education then use our signup form
I heard I can take the prelicense class online. Can I do an online prelicense course?
We get this question all the time. In January of 2010 Massachusetts changed the laws governing the Continuing Education Requirement for salespersons and brokers. They made it legal for continuing education to be done online. That is without a physically instructor being present. This has been widely confused with prelicensing education. That is the education requirement to get a license. They are different requirements. On October 7, 2016 Massachusetts has changed the requirement for the prelicense salesperson and broker class. You are now able to complete the class by attending a live instructor taught webinar. If you are a current salesperon or broker looking to get information about our online continuing education then please go to our help page for that product.
Do I take the test at the end of class?
No. You schedule the test with PSI Exams, once you have finished studying. Here is the link to the testing center PSI Exams
Where do I take the test?
Once you complete the 40 hour class. We will give you your certificate booklet. The booklet is your proof of completing the training. You schedule your exam through PSI Exams. They have testing locations in Auburn, Charlestown, Fall River, Lawrence, and West Springfield Here is the PSI Exams Locations and Directions
How much is the Sales Persons class?
The Pre-license Sales Persons class is $395. This includes the tuition and books.
How much is the Brokers class?
The Pre-license Sales Persons class is $400. This includes the tuition and books.
What’s included in the price?
The price included the tuition, books, handouts, and quiz questions.
How long do I have before taking the test?
Once you complete the class and receive your certificate booklet. You can schedule the exam as soon as you feel you are prepared. You have 2 years from the date on the booklet to past the test. Your booklet will expire after 2 years.
How much does the Sales Person exam cost?
The Sales Persons test cost is $85.00 To retake the exam the cost is $56.00
How much does the Brokers exam cost?
The Brokers test cost is $106.00. To retake the exam the cost is $56.00
How much is the Real Estate license?
You pay for the real estate license the day you pass the exam. The cost of the license the day you pass the exam is between $103 and $150 plus a $11 processing fee. It all depends when your birthday is compared to the date you pass the exam. You have to renew your license every 2 years. The cost will then be $103.
How much is the Broker license?
You pay for the Brokers license the day you pass the exam. The cost of the license the day you pass the exam is between $142 and $200 plus a $11 processing fee. It all depends when your birthday is compared to the date you pass the exam. You have to renew your license every 2 years. The cost then will be $142.
What is the difference between a Real Estate and Broker license?
A real estate salesperson works with a real estate Broker to help people buy, sell or rent real estate. If you have never had a license before then you will need to get a real estate salespersons license first. When you get your license you will affiliate with a broker in order to work with clients and earn commission and referrals.Once you have worked with a broker(s) for 3 years you can then take the broker prelicense class and take the test to become a real estate broker. At that time if you want you can open your own real estate brokerage and work for yourself.
Is the class a live class or 40 hours of video?
The class is a live class taught by a qualified instructor.
How do I register for the class?
Is the online continuing education accepted by the Board of Licensure?
Yes our online continuing education is approved by the Board of Licensure.
Is Bay State Academy an accredited school?
Yes the school is registered and licensed to operate in the state of Massachusetts.